Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Blue Danube

It’s been really warm and sunny today and we’ve not needed coats this afternoon! We walked across the chain bridge and spent the day on the Buda side.  Alan has seen there was a military museum that he wanted to go to, see I wandered around Fisherman’s Bastian with my camera while he went there, and then we met up for a drink at a terrace cafe and sat in the sun having a Belgian beer enjoying the view across to Pest.  Then we walked to Buda Castle, before going back to the hotel to chill out for an hour.

I walked back to Buda just before sunset as I wanted to get this shot of the Parliament at the blue hour.  I was lucky as there was a wall I could rest my little tripod on and I was able to avoid the cars driving past and the ones parked by the river - see my extra. I also managed to get my first  ever ‘light trails’ which I’ve also added to my extras.  I headed back to the hotel and met Alan in the lounge for our free drinks and then we went for dinner on a boat restaurant called Spoon.  It was recommended to me by Blip friend Steve the Welshman who used to live in Budapest, and it didn’t disappoint, the food and service were excellent and the interior of the boat was very elegant and had a guy playing the piano.  And to top that we had a table by the window so our view was the scene I blipped yesterday.

We’re back at the hotel now and have packed the case as we’re being picked up at 9.45am to go to the airport.  My legs are aching as I’ve walked a total of 11.5 miles today!

Hope you’re having a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.