Insight Day

I left this morning with a friend and headed to Bristol to attend an Insight Meditation Retreat Day. It was the first time I have been there and have only corresponded with them by email so it was a completely new experience for me. 
 
However I was made very welcome, as was my friend, and the day started with an introduction where we all said our names and the organiser gave a run down of the schedule for the day. The first meditation started at 10.30 and we remained in silence until the end of the day at 4.15. The day consisted of a mixture of sitting and walking meditation, a dharma talk and a shared silent lunch. The talk was around mindfulness of eating which was very appropriate as it was immediately before lunch and therefore we had the opportunity to practice!
 
At the end of the day, we had the opportunity to share our experience with the group and I left feeling very calm and peaceful.
 
In the entrance of the Quaker House I saw this lovely model and I thought it would be ideal for the silly Saturday challenge. Whilst there isn’t anything really that silly about it, I thought it was quite unusual.
 
As we left, I found myself not wanting to reconnect with the world straight away, so I didn’t read my phone messages or call home. It was my friend’s first experience of a meditation day and I was so pleased to hear that she loved it too so we will certainly be back again. 
 
When I arrived home I still felt a real sense of calm and I know that this feeling will spill over in the days ahead.
 
“Deep down with the heart is a stillness which is healing,
A trust in the universal laws which is unwavering,
And a strength which is rock-like.
But because it is so deep we need both
Patience and perseverance when digging for it.”
Paul Brunton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.