Dereliction

Scouting, as you do, for cards and sprouts (of the Brussels variety) in the centre of town, I had cause to walk through East Princes Street Gardens and see if any progress had been forthcoming in their restoration after the exit of Underbelly’s Folly. Alas no, all was as it had been when I posted a blip on last Wednesday. It may even be worse, in that the puddles are now large enough to give reflections of New College behind. With the temporary green plastic fencing used to protect the new paths and trees while the building of the extension to the RSA and National Gallery is ongoing (as in the extra) the whole area is a total mess.

With the sprouts cooked, the cards written and a banana loaf baked for tomorrow’s Cancer Aware Day using 3 of the largest over ripe bananas I’ve ever encountered, it was time for a spot of cleaning.

There is a touch of the slut about now that I live on my own with no one to maybe nudge me into domestic activity. The kitchen sink is now an advert for the efficacy of the John Lewis’s stainless steel cleaner and I could eat my tea of the bathroom floor. I am studiously avoiding the windows.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.