More Sun - more fresh air - more bread

A crisp day with temperatures a little below zero and the sun shining all day, out of a blue sky. What a delicious day!
After my "experiments" with bread over the last two weeks I decided to play it safe and bake what has become my "standard" sourdough recipe. I set it all going yesterday, finished it off this morning and left it to rise while I went for a walk. This evening I baked 3 loaves. Two for the freezer, one half to eat now (done!) and one half for tomorrow.
The walk in the middle of the day was lovely. This blip of some neighbours' postboxes was taken as I headed down the hill to the lake. Once down there I walked across on the snow-covered ice to the other (sunny) side, as seen in this photo on my flickr, and then on to the beach where we swim in the summer, though there was as little sign of sand as there was of water. Most of the walk was in the sun and it felt really good to have some really strong light shining onto my face.
Jan has been working hard on her translation and I read through the first few pages this evening. It read really well, due to Jan's work, and to be fair, due to the original writing. There is nothing harder than trying to change a dodgy Swedish text into a good English one. You'd be surprised how often that happens. Anyway, it is a good text on a good subject - the replacement of materials made from fossil fuels with recyclable bio-based materials!
It wouldn't be such a big jump to replace these plastic or metal post boxes with similar ones made of wood, or wood composites!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.