Nature note

I spotted this newt in what has become a long standing puddle. Said puddle also had tadpoles (probably toad ones) in a couple of weeks ago but I didn't see any today. I know that newts eat frogspawn but would they eat the taddies too? They'd be rather a large mouthful.

The water is reflecting the tall pines that make up most of this plantation, although, due to Berry's close studies of pine cones, we now know that we have Douglas Fir and Norway Spruce, as well as Larch which even I can identify!

I tested out my new walking boots on a good, long walk. Fine for the first half; not so fine to the point of painful the second. The boots don't rub, but an old stubbed toe injury has come back to haunt me in the past 5 yrs and other toe joints are stiffening up. Any good tips gratefully received as to extra padding or preventive measures; I can't bear the thought of having to restrict my walks...

Back home to get my head round a diet plan (very necessary, esp with sore toes), and various jobs that need doing before we go away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.