fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

Red Beetle

Are tie pins still a thing, or were they ever a thing?

The first company I worked for back in the 70s had 'Beetle' as a trade mark, and we used to give out these pins to customers, in the company red colour. I used to wear one on my lapel, and I also had a few 'beetle' ties, in blue or red with silver and (collector's item) gold beetles.

We sort of didn't come third in the camera club battle yesterday evening, we were sort of second, but the other two clubs were joint first. A tie in fact. I was surprised to see one of my images had been submitted for the battle, the blacksmith which I took at the Chedham's Yard blip meet. No idea why they chose that one as it got slated by the judge when I submitted it originally. This judge didn't like it much either, he gave it 17/20 which I realise is a bottom score in these competitions. He gave lots of 20/20, for some pretty ordinary images in some cases. Oh well, onwards and upwards as they say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.