Iconic

For some reason I always get teary eyed when I arrive in Melbourne. I lived here for a year 50 years ago and it's always felt like home. And this may be my last visit, who knows?

The anticipation of my overnight Business class (reward flight) was not fulfilled. Malaysian airlines seems to have crammed too many seats into the A330 and they were also very uncomfortable for short people and the tall guy sitting next to me. There were no privacy screens and the service and food were mediocre. It was almost impossible to sleep not helped by severe stomach ache which I think was self inflicted  I was glad I hadn't paid full whack. It wasn't worth it.

Negotiated Melbourne airport with no problems. There was a long queue to go through immigration control but it moved quickly and sensibly I hadn't brought food.

The big shock is the temperature. It was 44 last week, a sunny 20 today. More like Scotland than Australia.

I started with an unplanned couple of hours in bed catching up on the lost sleep then had a walk round the CBD, in the sunshine. A glass of Merlot filled the time while waiting for J, the bearer of #2's suit. I almost couldn't be bothered to go out later but managed to force myself to have fish 'n chips before back to watch 'The Two Popes'. I have Netflix!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.