utilities

Our electricity was off all day for some "planned maintenance". The same thing will be happening one day next week as well. It was only from 9am until 4.30pm so I must say it didn't have a huge effect on us - the Aga will take a while to heat back to its normal temperature, but we haven't been needing to cook. I made soup yesterday which we can just reheat this evening, and some apple crumble, ditto.

It made us think about how we would cope longer term without electricity ( as we did when we first moved here and had a lot of power cuts). We don't have a fridge or freezer so no worries about food going off. We could keep warm, heat water and cook basic things with the woodburning stove. Washing clothes by hand would be a chore, but not impossible, and I don't iron so no worries there. Probably what I'd miss the quickest is recharging my phone, camera batteries and computer. You can see where my priorities lie!

We also talked about how much electricity we use and where it comes from. This is not an advert, but we use Bulb as our supplier and they recently sent us a "green impact report" for 2019. Apparently, because the electricity they supply is all from renewable sources, we have saved  2,777kg of CO2 emissions during the year.. That made me feel good.

Anyway, to celebrate the power coming back on, I have just made a nice pot of mint tea :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.