earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Spectre Summoner

Bex left me a message a week or so back, to let me know that she'd got her first punter for a new venture of hers: Brocken spectre tours of Ilkley Moor. This lad, Jason, had signed up, booked his flights and was coming all the way from the south of France. "I hope you haven't set his expectations too high," I said, thinking this was a pretty risky venture, even for Bex. "I mean, really, what are the chances, especially in this winter of unrelenting wind and rain?" Just about zero, I thought to myself. 

I'd forgotten all about this hairbrained scheme until this morning when I woke up to see mist outside my window. Bex and Jason were the first people I saw. once up on the moor. The fog had just advanced, but not before Bex had delivered on Jason's brocken spectre. Result. A quite amazing result. The fog then receded, giving me a chance to see my own. I spent the next hour jogging around as the mist played games with me, not quite sure where it wanted to settle. This proved to be my favourite image of the morning, from many to choose from. 

You better sign up for the next tour quick. I suspect there's going to be a waiting list. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.