First peaches

My very first stone fruit to savour.

Fortunately I checked the dwarf peach tree today. Four of the 6 peaches are ripe even though the label on the tree says March.

They're a small - medium size and they taste like a peach! I had 2 sliced with yogurt and walnuts. Savour indeed.

A young fella on his scooter, pulled along by his dog, came a cropper outside my place today. The dog was on a lead, he saw Jasper on the swale, accelerated, and his young master lost control as his scooter crossed the road.

He could have been a lot worse but he'll be sore for a while.

Of course the boy and the dog lead were no longer connected. After a short breathtaking pursuit, Jasper shot up a tree like a rat up a drain pipe.

I took the young fellow home with his scooter. Another couple retrieved the dog and walked him home. As I drove away from my place I could see Jasper in my rear view mirror, watching Mummy drive off as he balanced precariously at the top of the tree.

The scooter is fine and the riders grazes and bruises will heal. Ghost the dog is back home. By the time I got home, Jasper had figured out how to get down.

He did need a cuddle and chat with Mummy though. ;-)

I managed to coax my right foot with the injured little toe, into my gardening boots. Getting it out again was worse. The greater good was that I at least made a start on catching up with weeding. My toe didn't there was any greater good but it's calmed down now.

Today's gratitude: For the simple, soothing nature of weeding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.