Seed…

…………….....…Pod



Adding to the recent Monarch Butterfly theme I am including a green ‘swan’ from the swan plant. The seedpod will eventually burst and the seed will be dispersed on the wind.

Milk plant, or swan plant as it is also known, provides food for the monarch butterfly caterpillars. They can’t survive on anything else.

It was far too windy to photograph this outside so it was picked and photographed inside on a reflective surface.


I knew yesterday’s butterfly was a male by the two dark spots on the inner wing veins. The female doesn’t have these and her wing veins are much thicker.


Thank you for the comments, stars and hearts for the two monarch butterflies. I have my fingers crossed they might return to my garden again this summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.