The second half of life..

By twigs

Reflecting

It's Waitangi Day today - New Zealand's national day, a day to commemorate the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi, regarded as New Zealand's founding document, and to reflect on what it means today to be a New Zealander.

It's also the anniversary of the day mum passed away four years ago and today is a time of quiet reflection.  The time has flown by and so much has changed for me, for us and the world.  There's a lot about the world today I'm pleased she's not here to see - it would cause her too much angst.  But I miss our chats......chats about anything, everything and nothing.  She's gone, but she's always with me each and every day.

And so the day was a day of reflection - it seemed only fitting that this chap was my blip.  I haven't ventured very far at all today.......the nearby Hawksbury Lagoon wildlife refuge (where this was taken) and Matanaka Farm filled my day nicely, so I find myself back at the same campground I was at last night.  All good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.