Night Heron

The more I look at this bird, the more it looks stuffed, but it's a real bird, I promise. A group of us went walking by the yacht harbor this morning for a change of scene. Even though we started out with temps in the high forties, in an hour we were all shedding hats and scarves and jackets. Unbelievably, I could have done the walk in a tshirt. Not so on our side of town though.

At the harbor there is a fish cleaning station where these birds hang out. No dummies! Today there were a couple of old timers working on a crab boil, with a big pot of water and a portable stove. A pair of herons were keeping a close eye on the whole process and waiting for their share. They get pretty darn close and they don't shoo. 

I made myself laugh when I wrote old timers, as if I weren't one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.