Construction Toys

Very early start today and a "sunrise" drive to Edinburgh in time to make a presentation on "Construction Toys" to the Members of Blackhall Probus Club.

The whole process went very well. Connecting to an unknown venue’s projector with my iPad Pro is always a concern, however, I now have a whole bag of various connectors, and a picture on the screen was achieved immediately.

My usual presentations consist of pictorial images and videos with the absolute minimum of text. And of course, being an Apple enthusiast I use a Keynote rather than PowerPoint.

I never have a script and just talk to the slides. A green laser pointer rather than red is usually appreciated as it is much brighter and easier to see.

I covered Meccano, Bayko, Lego, and Frank Lloyd Wright with many curious twists.

I must confess I was bowled over by my enthusiastic reception. The talk last forty minutes, and the question session went on for 30 minutes. After the conclusion I spent another twenty minutes answering individual questions on a wide variety of related subjects.

I was asked about my other presentations and also requested if I could put together something on model railways and aircraft modelling. Yes I can.

The whole attraction is really about the nostalgia and the fun of first and second childhoods.

At the conclusion, California Girl and I were entertained to lunch by our friends Neil M and his wife Madge M.

Neil then showed us his model Railway and that is the Blipfoto today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.