Beautiful Lesotho

We are shattered after setting  off ‪at 9 am‬ for what was to be a 4 hour walk to a waterfall.  It was beautiful but got oh so hot!  34 degrees, at 2000 metres and over 14 Km to cover.

 We walked through the village Malealea then headed down through fields of corn.  The blip is the pretty view from the beginning. The earth was very red.  After a while we went down steeply and then followed the river, crossing it many times  to a waterfall after about 2 hours, but which time I was shattered.  We had a local guide who went very slowly for me on the way back which was killing as we left the river and heading up through a rocky hillside..  The others in the group went ahead as they were running out of water and some had blisters on their arms from the heat, despite sun cream.  After the rocky climb it was still 3 km of gentle climb but by then Mr C was getting dizzy and I was so tired.  I’ve never felt anything like it - I think it was the heat. I remember hearing “elderly” people shouldn’t be out in extreme heat but of course I forget maybe that might be us at aged 73 and 76!

We got back an hour after the others!  What a disgrace!  We didn’t get back ‪till 2.30‬.  We are drinking diarolyte in the hope of replacing the salts. Not long after we got back it was thunder and lightening then heavy rain.  

We are staying on rondavals last night a local choir came in , the musicians who played on homemade instruments.  The choir is singing in a space not far from our hut which is very soothing!

The scenery here is gorgeous - so much prettier than the bits of South Africa we saw on the way here, and the people are lovely.  Tomorrow we head out of this beautiful country and it is a long drive back to South Africa  and The Drakensbergs. I won’t be doing the 7 hour walk that’s on the agenda!  We are there 2 nights before we head into Natal province and the coast.

I’m afraid it is so hard to upload here and there’s no chance of looking at anyone’s journals as it also takes ages to load. I might have to wait till I’m home before I can backblip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.