Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

A walk in the forest

‘It’s close’ and ‘we won’t be long’ are normally not things I don’t take literally, especially coming from a culture of ‘just now’ or ‘now now’. We went for a 22km walk which I think even the team anticipated only to be 10-15km. It was incredible experiencing the raw Liberan forest. We saw a chimp nest, elephant dung and tracks, the elusive pygmy hippo tracks and learnt so much from the botanist who is also a driver. Something that never occurred to me about rainforests is that it can be very dry even though its lush and water availability is not always a given. Me and a few colleagues were very grateful for my lifestraw today to get through the walk. It was given to me years ago as a gift from a student but today it saved a few peoples lives from heat exhaustion for sure! Today I had many moments where I was so content with life and grateful for so many things. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.