Back-and-forth

Today was such a frazzled day that I could not think of anything to blip, much less a mono looking in.  So this is a photo I took yesterday at the ballet - I just love how sweet and self-possessed she looks as she talks with the usher at the entrance.

I got a call from the pre-anesthesia nurse about setting up a time to talk.  I told her she could call back at 3 PM, when I returned from the cardiology appointment.  Then I got a call from cardiology saying that they had not received an insurance approval for the visit, just a referral letter from my GP, so if I wanted to keep my appointment I'd have to pay the full cost myself.  I decided it was important enough that I would self-pay.  

In the meantime, I got a call from Dr. Lazar's surgery scheduler saying that my surgery had been moved back, so that I need to be there at 9:30 for 11:30 surgery.  That's an hour and a half later.  That is a good thing.

The drive up to Edmonds for the cardiology appointment was quick and easy as there was little traffic.  However, it took 45 minutes after I'd had the preliminaries to finally see the doctor.  Dr. Krishnan said there were no issues that she could see and she would send a note to Dr. Lazar to that effect.  Since I was paying for myself, I chose their Prompt Pay option whereby, if I paid today, they would take 35% off the bill.  It was still a ridiculous amount to pay.

By the time I was able to head for home, it was 2:40, while my pre-anesthesia phone call was set for 3.  There was a lot of traffic and a couple of detours on the way, so that I arrived home at 3:15.  I called the nurse back and scheduled a call for 5:00.

While the nurse and I talked about medications and other medical issues, she mentioned that I was scheduled to go  home the day after my surgery.  I was stunned - I'd been told three days in the hospital and then at least a week in rehab, and that's what I've been planning for.  So tomorrow I need to call Dr. Lazar's office to find out exactly what the plan is.

I'm so tired of all this back-and-forth.  And I've still got another day to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.