Jumping a-rand

As sure as day turns into night, I can gauge the state of the weather by whether Paulo is wearing this striped jumper. As I climb inside his txopela, as reliably as a barometer the jumper indicates that the weather is no warmer than 22/23 degrees. Only on winter evenings between May and September am I to be found with a second layer, but Paulo dons the jumper more readily.

Paulo was excitable today when he was giving me some change as a South African customer had paid him for a journey in rand. I was trying to get out of the drizzle but he insisted that I inspected the 200 rand note. I’m not quite sure whether the customer has done him a disservice in giving him a note that’s not legal tender here, but he seemed happy enough with the outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.