Wintry Weather

With gym attended to before I saw what the weather was like, it was a pleasant surprise to see sunshine when it became light, but I should have known better.
With a lunch in town with my stepdaughter scheduled it was unfortunate that the worst blizzard to date hit the Meadows just as I was about to leave. I waited while horizontal wet snow driven on a fierce wind blotted out the view from the Dower House, lying wet on the ground and delineating all the west facing tree trunks.
As the shower passed, I left. The streets were mini streams, so I opted for a bus to travel the half mile into town. I am breaking my record for the number of buses taken in a 24 hour period.

The lunch in the Grill room of the Dome in George Street was lovely. My haggis wrapped in filo pastry and with an abundance of a creamy sauce which I mopped up with some of Ann’s mashed potato was just what was needed on a cold wet day.
Needless to say, the talk was of wedding preparations and outfits. I’m just glad my outfit seemed to be approved of. No mention was made of any likelihood of snow shoes and anoraks.
And relax.......This dessert is not mine- I passed. I was thinking of the wedding outfit , Ann clearly wasn’t!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.