The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Little grebes

My blip stalker has a bit of a thing about pocket ducks, otherwise known as teals. So I've posted an extra of one showing off its epaulettes. The main attraction for me today though was, as always, the even tinier little grebe. There was only one today in front of the Causeway Hide, though I was seeing double as this little one bobbed past. The afternoon light was particularly lovely just before the sun sank below a woody, low hill. 

The main event of the day was Wifie's Qi Gong workshop, which left me energised and with a feeling of well-being.  Every day this week, our return to Arnside has coincided with high tide.  I thought today's might be low enough to get safely past Storth, but I was wrong, the road was deeply flooded again and we had to turn back and go the long way home.  But then if we hadn't tried to go that way, I wouldn't have seen the Little Gull that was flying close into the shore. I don't usually see one of those until the passage birds come through in the Spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.