Wild Wednesday ...

.... squirrels, bird and Cheddar.

The day started out sunny today but the clouds started rolling in a little after noon.  I sat in the backyard photographing the squirrels and whatever else showed up .... which happened to be another Blue Jay.

You might notice that one of the squirrels in my collage has a short tail.  I noticed him a while back but he isn't a regular that comes by all the time.  He reminds me of our old short tailed squirrel that I named Scutter so this one will be Scutter, Jr. from now on.  I hope he continues to visit our yard. 

When Richard got home from work we took a quick walk at Housenick even though it was chilly and overcast by that time.  As we were pulling up the road to the parking lot R pointed out some birds to me.  At first we thought they might be downy woodpeckers but on closer inspection I could see that they were a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker pair.  The lighting was horrible but I managed to get a few shots.  I didn't realize that I have gotten them both in the same picture until I had uploaded them to my laptop .... the middle picture shows both the male (on right) and the female (on left).  Perhaps we interrupted their mating ritual!

♥ Thank you so much for all the love on yesterday's Blue Jay! I'm sorry I've been so terrible at commenting and replying but please know that I appreciate all the stars, hearts and comments!  ♥

Note: I forgot to mention that we ran into an Audubon member who told us that there was a Catbird sighting here at Housenick park a few days ago! What!?! They are summer birds so it's crazy early for one to be in our area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.