a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Neon

Abstract Thursday: ICM - "Neon"

"When sky blue gets dark enough
To see the colors of the city lights
A trail of ruby red and diamond white
Hits her like a sunrise


She comes and goes and comes and goes
Like no one can


Tonight she's out to lose herself
And find a high on Peachtree Street
From mixed drinks to techno beats it's always
Heavy into everything


She comes and goes and comes and goes
Like no one can
She comes and goes and no one knows
She's slipping through my hands


She's always buzzing just like
Neon, neon
Neon, neon
Who knows how long, how long, how long
She can go before she burns away


I can't be her angel now
You know it's not my place to hold her down
And it's hard for me to take a stand
When I would take her anyway I can


She comes and she goes
Like no one can
She comes and she goes
She's slipping through my hands


She's always buzzing just like
Neon, neon
Neon, neon
Who knows how long, how long, how long
She can go before she burns away"

John Mayer ~ Neon

This intentional camera movement of streetlights and passing traffic taken handheld has been given a colour substitution in Affinity Photo and I've sharpened it a fair bit but it is largely as taken.

I've given you a link to John Mayer playing this song solo live on an acoustic guitar.  If you are not a guitarist you might not appreciate just how hard it is to play something like this and sing it at the same time.  The demographic of John's audience back in 2005 was interesting, who knew that there were so many female acoustic guitar fans?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.