WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Back a bit

Sinitta taking a photo of our 36-strong group on our walk around the reservoir at Beznar. I found it a pretty tough walk ... we started with a long and steep descent on a concrete path. By the time we got to the bottom, my knees were knackered. But then leader H proposed a short optional round trip to an abandoned swimming pool (??) so some of us opted for a 20-minute rest while we waited for them. Definitely necessary in my case. It enabled me to cope with the remaining 6 km and a tough slog back uphill. Although it looks cloudy here, it was warm and humid, and the sun had come out by the time we got back to Talará. Stats: 9.5 km, 275 m climbing, 3 hours including the rest.

I'd gone with S and T; after a restorative beer we drove back to Almuñecar and went to our respective homes for quick showers before reconvening with S at seafront restaurant Pepe Dígame. The food is nothing to write home about (T may dispute this as she now has an upset stomach, I reckon it was something dodgy in the paella). But it's a lovely place to sit. Back to ours for coffee, and then we spent a quiet evening in.

Edit: forgot to mention that just as I was leaving this morning, a tremendous fight erupted outside the front door between Mystère and the Godfather. A lot of fur flew, and none of it was black; Mystère chased him out of the garden and returned fluffed and victorious. But when I got back from my walk he had a weepy, swollen eye. Again. Sigh. Luckily we still have some antiseptic eyedrops left from last time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.