DrSandy

By DrSandy

Blast from the past

I took the car down to Paul, for it's BIG SERVICE, at 8.30 am.

Paul then drove me back home - so I was STUCK at home.  No problem.  I had a truck load of things, to do.

But, I didn't get terribly far.

Initially, Mom was in her bedroom,  "ripping" things up.  She had decided to do,  A BIG CLEAN UP.  It was prompted, by an e-mail, from Brian.

The e-mail came to me, but it was addressed to Mom, in response to a letter, sent a few years ago. The e-mail arrived just after Christmas and I actually, nearly deleted it, without reading it.

The reason........... I do not know BRIAN and the title of it was APOLOGIES. Yes, written in capitals.  It LOOKED like SPAM.

But, I did open it and it was quite exciting.


So who is Brian ?

A long lost relative, still living in Barry. 

OMG ! 

He is in his eighties, still dances on Saturday night and lives in a house, that was bombed, during WW2.   Apparently, he had received a letter, from Mom, some years ago.  Meant to respond. Forgot.  Suddenly found the letter and this was his response.

Now to be honest, I didn't really have a clue, who this guy was.

Actually, still not 100 % clear.

And Mom, seems to be a little fuzzy, on it too.

For what it is worth,  I think he is my grandmother's brother.  But, he is actually, younger than my Dad, would have been.

The reason for the ripping in the bedroom, Mom was going through, her things, trying to figure it out and in the process, reviewing, bits and pieces of the family history.  

She emerged with a collection of family memorabilia.  Among them, today's blip.  A letter from Father Christmas to me.   Based on the date, I would have been seven years old.

Other items, she fished out, were photos.  And a lock of my baby hair - it was, pretty close to ginger.  I think I am glad,  it' didn't stay that hue.  Although there is a ginger streak in it.  Apparently my Dad's dad had ginger hair.

Some of the photos were of me, some of her, some of the Sherwills and some of the  Welsh family.  It was an interesting few hours.

Paul dropped the car off, just before 3 pm - so I was able to make it to STEP.  For what it is worth, the car, seemed to be running BETTER.  But, it has several, potentially expensive / serious issues, which will need to be addressed.  Soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.