Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Mausoleum

It was volunteer day at Weston Park and more leaf raking was in order.  We'd been told to drop the collected leaves behind a wall, next to the Mausoleum.  Despite having what I thought was an intimate knowledge of the park, this was an area I'd not previously explored.  I understood why when you realise you can only get public access from the A5, that runs to the north of the park.  On this occasion I was allowed to enter via a door in a boundary wall marked private.

A plaque on the mausoleum revealed that it was the last resting place of Orlando George Charles Bridgeman, 3rd Earl of Bradford, along with his wife, Selina Louisa and their son Charles Orlando manners Bridgeman.  

Speaking to the Head Gardener afterwards he explained that the burial chamber was actually underneath the building you can see here, dug into the sandstone that was excavated to create the vault.

I was quite surprised to see that I had walked over 7 miles, according to my watch today, none of which count towards my Walk 1000 Miles target as I've opted for the 'boots on' approach.  It doesn't look as though the weather is going to allow for much walking over the weekend with Storm Dennis on the way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.