Cuttings

I've started to take cuttings from a couple of the easiest to grow and propagate houseplants. You can see a root in the water here. Eventually they'll be potted up and even more eventually they'll enjoy a few months in the back garden getting lots of light but no direct sun. That's a long way off though.

I've been meaning to record the receptacle I use for propagation for ages. It's an 'Ovaltine Mixer' which I have had for about 40 years. It wasn't new when I bought it in a junk shop in Southend-on-Sea so who knows its actual age. Does anyone still drink Ovaltine**? Can you buy it? And why would you drink it anyway? I have a vague memory of something granular and cloying and huge disappointment on my part. Why a specific mixing jug would be made for it I have no idea. It is the perfect size for plant cuttings though.

For tedious reasons to do with a bout of insomnia and a 'before the regular emergency clinc' appointment with the dentist I'm up and blipping early. Honestly my dentist has been a star this week and I can't thank him enough. I just want a bit of reassurance this morning and he is willing to give that. At least I hope that's all it is.

Then we will be off to Glasgow to look after our baby grandson (nearly 10 months old now) while his mum and dad go out for lunch. This was our Christmas present to them with babysitting as part of the deal. I'm really looking forward to seeing him and having fun. And I hope his parents have an enjoyable few hours off duty.

So far the storm (I do wish they wouldn't give them names) hasn't arrived. I'm not looking forward to it one bit but then I don't suppose anyone is. Stay safe everyone.

**Other bedtime drinks are available etc etc

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.