Dinner was over

I finally finished finding the documents to give to the accountant for the tax return, due by the end of March. As is my CPD return. A similar problem; making sure that I have the documents to support that I have behaved as I should; in the one that I have paid all the tax I should, and in the other done all the right things to maintain my professional competence. I need to get on with that.

Friends came to dinner. The first non-family guests since the work late last year on the balustrades. It is such a great expansive view with the clear glass, rather than frosted. I'd sneaked the Lumix onto the table as the sun was setting, which was good as I noticed the reflections competing with the lights in Grey Lynn.

The extra was titled by me as "From the Medoc via Mahurangi". The grape used in this single vineyard wine was brought to this part of New Zealand from the Medoc region of France in the belief that it was cabernet franc. It was in 2006 (the year of the vintage from which this bottle sprang) that DNA testing revealed it to be Carmenere. 

I would have bought this bottle of wine (and one or two others) on a visit to the winery which is very near Snells beach. It was bought not long after the wine was bottled (in 2007), since when it has rested in a cool corner underneath the Beach house. Obviously it has done well there, as this was a very nice wine to complement S' superb meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.