Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

It's really good to be back home after our ordeal at Delhi airport, and a bit of a shame that the holiday had to end like that.  We'll all be putting in a claim because our 13.35 Saturday flight didn't take off until 05.00 Sunday morning. The original flight was cancelled due to technical problems, but Storm Dennis meant the flight was even further delayed. Here I am asleep in a bar, where Virgin Atlantic offered us free breakfast and water... but only one of our group could face a breakfast curry at 3am. I was later woken up by the manager because he objected to me taking up two seats.

I've enjoyed my trip to India, it's been wonderfully diverse and will take some digesting. I'd be hard pushed to pick a favourite bit. I didn't experience any culture shock, but whether that's because we were shielded from the very worst of the poverty, or because I travelled in Turkey and briefly visited Tangier in the seventies I don't know. 

Summary:
Some of our group never did get the hang of ignoring the street peddlers
More than half of the women would not use the squat toilets 
A quarter of us - thankfully not me - suffered a 24 hour dodgy tummy bug
We've eaten curry for breakfast, lunch and dinner for ten days, with most of us sticking to vegetarian fare
A variety of transport has been used - coach, tuktuk, internal flight, overnight train and a boat.

The end... now when's it bedtime!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.