Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Welcome to Guinea

You are welcome. I was told this repeatedly upon entering Guinea as people were warm and welcoming. The difference at the border (or Frontier as its called) was so different and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. The most obvious was the change in language where everyone speaks French. Luckily I had a colleague with me that was very helpful in translating when I didn’t understand. We stopped in the town of Nzérékoré on the way to the office to meet government officials at their home as it was a Sunday. I was mostly nervous of breaking protocol unknowingly (which half way through I realised I was the only one that didn’t take off shoes). I didn’t understand a word but I learnt smiling and nodding (following suite of my colleague as to make sure I wasn’t agreeing to the wrong thing) helped a lot. After protocol was observed we were off to Seredou, home for the next three nights in the heart of Ziama Man and Biosphere Reserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.