Gardenia Bee Hawkmoth Caterpillar

After being eaten several times....got totally crispy with hot firey sun and water restrictions...(I have only ever had one small flower from it) with just a few glimmerings of green I found another spot for my poor and often neglected gardenia bush.
With lots of TLC it was coming good .... looking wonderful with its lush dark green leaves...this morning however it had been denuded by most of the leaves and this guy was fat and proud. I was wondering how come that this portly fellow had managed to eat a whole bush by himself when Flynn spied another.

I had to look him up on the net...just to see what his mo was....this is what I found out...

...Although they may eat your plants as caterpillars, hawk moths are not considered pests. The adults have an important role as pollinators of many plant species and are the most significant pollinator of papaya (pawpaw) crops.

I also saw what it turns into OMGosh what a beauty and when flying around can be mistaken for a very large bee or a hummingbird...they really are beautiful and perhaps I could be honored that they have chosen my garden to come and live in instead of being grumpy about my bush...besides he was very obliging to pose for my blip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.