ABSTRACT THURSDAY - MYSTERIOUS

Mysterious - adjective - difficult or impossible to understand, explain, or identify.

The brief for today was to “make/take an abstract shot that is not immediately recognisable, make the viewers wonder what they are seeing” - so do you know what this is or is it too mysterious for you?

We were out for coffee with a friend this morning and I took lots of different shots, but none really fitted the challenge, so when we were on our way home - and our friend had driven - we stopped near some traffic lights in Highworth and looking out of the window, this just “fell into my lap” - or should I say, "into my iPhone camera?"  Of course, I have faffed and fartnarkled with it just a tad to get this mysterious looking abstract, the original of which wasn't quite as pink - so have a guess.  There is probably something like this inside an outer casing in most streets.  I wonder if I made this into an A3 size and put it into a frame whether anyone would buy a copy of this photograph?  See my quote below.

We were glad that we were in a butcher’s shop in Highworth when the rain started falling in Biblical proportions and was bouncing on the roads, pavements and cars - so I said to two young children standing next to us that I thought it would be a good idea to build an ark, then asked if they knew who built a famous ark and his name began with “N”.  The little girl looked at me and said “Noah”, so I said to her, “I know a song about that” and before we knew it, another lady and I were singing this song!  We did get some strange looks, but as you probably know by now, I'm quite used to that - and Blip has a lot to answer for!  

I then said to the two children that they probably wouldn’t find many silly ladies singing a song like that especially in a butcher’s shop, but their mother quickly said, “Don’t worry, they live with me and I’m often silly.”  We then chatted and agreed that it was much better to be silly than miserable - but I’m not sure the children were convinced!

Driving home, the rain was still hammering down but there were still many “silly”  people driving much too fast - and it’s still raining hard now.  Having watched the television news last night, we are so fortunate that we are in a house in an area that doesn’t flood, and feel so much for those who have lost all their possessions when their homes flooded and are now having to clear up, not knowing if rivers will burst their banks again.

“Abstract art: 
     a product of the untalented 
          sold by the unprincipled 
to the utterly bewildered.”
Al Capp

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.