FLOWER FRIDAY

A few years ago we had some beautiful hellebores, but sadly they didn’t survive so we bought three new ones last year, but one of those has since died.  However, the two that did survive are doing well, despite the very wet and windy weather we have had recently.

I went out into the garden fairly early this morning, fully dressed, you will be pleased to know - it was too windy to go out in just my pink robe - and took several photographs of the hellebore flowers.  I still find it quite difficult to get right down to take close-up shots in the garden, because of my wonky knees, so this is the best I could do for today’s challenge - a beautiful pink hellebore, with lots of buds still to open, nestled in amongst our sage bush.  It was also a challenge to ensure that the flowers were still as I photographed them, as it was a very windy morning, but I think I managed it quite well.

After that we went out for coffee and then Mr. HCB treated me to lunch at Hall & Woodhouse near the Wilts & Berks Canal, where we could see the effects of the wind on the water.  We had a good time together and of course, it saves me having to cook this evening.  Mikey, the waiter who looked after us when we first arrived, came over and asked if we would like a photograph taken so although I’m not that keen on having my photograph taken, and as it was kind of him to ask, I agreed, and have put the shot in as an extra.  I must confess that when he held the phone up high and then twisted it, my first thought was to say “What are you doing?" but we were both very pleased with the result from an unusual angle.

Hope everyone has a good weekend and perhaps the weather will be kinder to us than of late.  Mr. HCB is hoping it doesn’t rain too much tomorrow as he is going up to London with our older son to watch his team, Spurs, play Chelsea, so I have a whole day to myself - now should I do housework or something more exciting?  What a dilemma - we have visitors for the weekend of 21/22 March, so no point in doing too much tomorrow, otherwise it will need doing again before they arrive!  Guess it’s something exciting then!

“Spring dances with joy 
     in every flower 
          and in every bud 
letting us know that changes 
     are beautiful and
          an inevitable law of life.” 
Debasish Mridha
American physician, philosopher, poet-seer, and author

P.S.  Yesterday's "mysterious" abstract was, in fact, the wires in a telecom box on a pavement in Highworth.  Well done to those who guessed correctly! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.