The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Liverpool Street Hauptbanhof

So here we are, back in the UK! The trip back to the airport was a bit hair raising, as we hadn't left much time and had to walk 15 minutes to the tram stop, then catch the tram (15  minutes), but we made it back to Stansted, across London, and back to Stroud. I've grunge-filtered the Liverpool Street Station shot, as it was piddling with rain in London, and the scurrying figures look more Lowryesque if they have a weathered look.

I tried out entering the UK on my Irish passport, to see what the process of being a post-Brexit visitor would be like. I was asked where I'd come from, if I were visiting relatives, or going on holiday. What could I say? "I live here". At least I have the luxury of now having two passports. I always fail the biometric passport machines at Stansted, no matter what.

The process reminded me that my face has never fit, no matter where I've lived. Too beaky, maybe. Where do the beaky-nose people live?

It's a bit quiet at home. Steve has gone to bed. He is feeling poorly. Some more of the cold/flu symptoms. I had to go straight from Stroud railway station to packing up my stall goods to take to the market today at 5pm. I'll take over Steve's stall space at 4 pm tomorrow, to set up for Saturday. It all felt a little surreal, going straight back to work mode. Tomorrow night I'll probably be back on bedtime duty with the children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.