dreaming

By dreaming

The view outside

There were a lot of ups and downs today but on the whole things are looking up. I was able to use the bathroom by myself. It was risky and I felt shaky but I managed to get it done. Walking with the physical therapist today was completely different from yesterday, when I could only move very slowly leaning heavily on the Walker and keeping my eyes on the floor. Today I walked much more easily for far longer and was actually able to do part of the Walk without my leg brace on. It made me feel a lot more optimistic.

I had a care conference with Representatives of all the departments here, PT, OT, activities co-ordinator, and nutrition supervisor. I think we finally got a handle on how to let me get the food I need and avoid that which I don't or shouldn't have. The physical therapist expectation is that I will need to be here another 4 weeks! But I think I'm progressing at a sufficiently good rate that I will be done sooner than that.

I called doctor Lazars office to see if they knew that I had not the use of my left leg. They did not. I will be having a follow-up appointment with the surgeon next week to figure out what's going on and what the next step should be.

The big down for the day was when it took half an hour for my call to be responded to at a point when I really needed help. I know they are very short-staffed here and there's always a long wait time, but I think 30 minutes is really extreme.

I am expecting visitors over the weekend: Gina and Terry will be here, and my blip friend Tookie plans to come as well. They all want to bring gifts of food yellow but I have no ideas about what that should be.

So I'm feeling a lot more upbeat today and hope that will continue. Thank you to all of you for your supportive and caring messages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.