Shattered but relaxing!

It's been a long, long day.  It's been tough in the gusting winds and occasional showers, to erect three tents and ferry all the equipment from cars along very muddy paths to the assembly area.  Tony summed up the impact of the weather when he returned to place a control in a depression which was dry yesterday, and three feet deep in water today.  We didn't get a huge number of competitors but those who came enjoyed their orienteering on the whole.  So many folks to thank, all the Club volunteers who turn out tirelessly and do more than their designated tasks, Hobblers Angela, Bev and Rickie who stepped up to fill the gaps in personnel.  Angela collected me and all the equipment at 7.45 and then spent the next eight hours or so doing anything which needed doing.  Events like these restore my faith at a time when I've been really quite low.

And now we are in our PJs after a quick tea made up of what was left in the fridge and some warmed up shepherd's pie from two days ago, with a can of rice pudding for dessert.  I have my glass of wine and bar of chocolate given to me yesterday by Parkrun Pal Paul, thank you Paul x

On this blip I look as I feel......shattered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.