Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Crooked

An inevitable subject for my first Chesterfield blip, the crooked spire of St Mary & All Saints.

It had been a little while since I treated myself to a day trip, the weather over recent weekends not having helped. The trains were fine for me today though, so I had a smooth journey there and back for what I think is my first exploration of this Derbyshire town.

After a couple of hours of pottering about the centre, which seemed quite prosperous, I walked north along Sheffield Road to the Proact stadium, home of Chesterfield FC but also, for this season at least, of Sheffield United Women. The Blades were hosting Blackburn Rovers Ladies (who I'd last seen in May winning their play-off final at Valley Parade) in the FA Women's Championship, the second tier of women's football.

Sheffield raced to an early two goal lead, but Rovers deservedly pulled one back and with the score 2-1 at half-time it seemed a competitive match. A sending off for Blackburn early in the second half tilted things very much in the home team's favour, and they scored three more to end up 5-1 winners. 

A stadium panorama is in extras, along with a glimpse of the fine George Stephenson statue that stands outside the railway station. The Proact is my 95th ground so I remain on course to reach 100 by the end of this season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.