Bob resting

A slice of rural contentment as I gave my protesting toe a break from peddling. I did observe a sheep in the paddock appearing to hustle a group of sheep so maybe not everyone felt as content as I did.

It was a rather lovely reintroduction to cycling and I told my toe that it could have been far worse - hills, massive headwind, and rough ground.

Technically the return trip was uphill, peddling inland towards the mountains, and a light breeze, but in the scheme of things it was a cruisey 27km ride.

I enjoyed the quiet of the countryside, sound of birds, and observing signs of recent activity - newly wrapped bailage, recently harvested grain, shorn sheep, and a paddock with a solitary bale of hay. I wondered if the farmer rushed to collect the hay bales before yesterday's rain and one was left behind?

In the distance was the surprising sight of fresh snow on the mountains. It was gone by afternoon but still, its a reminder that the seasons roll on.

Back home after coffee and a bit of toe kindness, I headed outside to work on the neglected middle front garden.

Yesterday's rain penetrated just enough to allow me to make a meaningful addition to the soil without dealing with dust nor a lively wind.

I weeded, ran the cultivator through the sad soil, added 20 year old horse poop, blood and bone, and sheep pellets. I also trimmed some enthusiastic growth. Sorry toe, the greater good was the garden.

Today's gratitude: For sharing my home with extended family this weekend. It's been lovely having Daniel and Troye around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.