Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Ochils

Sunday started well but went downhill as the day drew on.

Church in the morning, then I took advantage of a break in the weather to do a recce for a Ramblers walk I am due to lead on Tuesday. The original planned route is waterlogged, but I managed to find a relatively dry, though slightly longer, alternative. Took this picture overlooking Falkirk from the viewpoint above the Falkirk Wheel before joining the Union Canal.

If I had returned home at the end of my recce, all would have been (relatively) well. However, I went to look at a possible alternative route that incorporated some of the original published walk. On returning to my car from that, I found that the battery in my key fob had run out and neither the keyless entry or ignition would work. Lots of alarms and flashing lights. It was also starting to get dark. Oh, and my phone battery had just 4% charge left.

Walked up to the main road and called a taxi to get me home. Quick change, grabbed the spare keys and asked a kind neighbour to drive me back to my car. Hey, the battery in the spare keys didn't work either. More alarms, more flashing lights. Abandoned the car and got a lift from my neighbour back home.

The recce may have been a success, but it was nearly 8.30pm before I had my dinner and I was now car-less. The rest of the story would need to wait until Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.