a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Whose?

Tiny Tuesday: Why Heather's of course

The complex structures involved in many of the plants that we take for granted in the garden never cease to amaze me. It is only when magnified through a macro lens the complication of their structure starts to become apparent.  

I've been working from home today, watching the weather as it has come and gone.  I don't sit next to a window in the office so don't normally have that distraction.  We had what looked suspiciously like sleet earlier, and although it is (briefly) sunny at the moment, its darn cold out there as our American cousins might like to say.  I'm not too sure if anyone does actually use "darn" as an adjective any more, its certainly not commonly used in the British version of English.    

I'm still struggling away trying to teach myself a little Spanish, hence my noticing word usage a little more than normal.  I'm currently grappling with why, when talking about the weather,  Spanish speakers will sometimes use "hace mucho" and on other occasions would use "está muy"  for the English expression it is very .  So we have hace mucho frío (it is very cold)  and yet we also have está muy nublado (it is very cloudy).  I am not sure that there is necessarily a reason, it may simply be common usage - something that one just has to learn.  How frustrating!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.