TINY TUESDAY

For today’s challenge we were encouraged to take a shot of something we would be giving up for Lent and this proved quite difficult for me as it's not something I have ever done regularly.

I have to confess that although I am a Christian, I have never thought that Lent was just about giving things up such as biscuits, cake or chocolate but rather about finding something to do that will not only enhance my life but also the lives of those around me.  I also feel that Lent is about seeking to renew my faith and learning how I can share it with others in a meaningful way, rather than making it a time to deprive myself.  I guess giving out hearts is one way to do that so once again several have been given out today and all gratefully received.

However, in the spirit of Blip, and after meeting Margaret, a very “old” and dear friend, for coffee this morning, I wandered round and found some Lindt chocolates which, if I were giving up anything for Lent, these would be at the top of my list!  They are expensive, small, delicious and very moreish - but I didn’t buy any, so I won’t be tempted, so therefore, I don't have to think about giving them up!

My friendship with Margaret goes back to when we were both in our early twenties and attended a motor cycle course together - Margaret was rather shy and I was, well not quite so shy, but we hit it off straightaway and became firm friends.  When Mr. HCB and I decided to get married, I asked Margaret to be our bridesmaid and although she lived in Northern Ireland at the time, she was happy to fly over for our big day and we have remained friends all through the years, meeting whenever we can manage it.

It’s always good to see Margaret whenever she comes into Swindon, and we never stop chatting - so it seemed fitting to put in an extra shot to show her and me together on our wedding day, together with my sister again - and also my brother - well, why not embarrass him too?  I have also put a small photograph of Margaret in the collage, taken today.

It seems a good time to let everyone know that despite what I have said above, I have decided to give up Facebook for Lent - and perhaps even longer - I will miss it, of course, but it does take up a lot of time when I know I could, and should be doing other things.  

"Remember that Lent and Ash Wednesday 
     is not just about putting away the bad things. 
It is about creating good things 
     and helping the poor and the needy, 
          being kind to people and much more." 
Jacob Winters

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.