Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mardi Gras

Today is Mardi Gras aka Fat Tuesday aka Shrove Tuesday.  Thanks to mindful_life for making it today's tiny Tuesday theme.  I'm not the pancake eating sort but have always thought of this day more as Mardi Gras/Carnival.  The biggest celebrations can be found in New Orleans, Brazil, Spain and Italy.

Carnival around the world is celebrated  anywhere from 2 days to a week.  New Orleans does it right (at least in my book).  The city begins the celebrations on January 6, the day of the Epiphany.  I don't have to describe it all because you'd pretty much have had to live in a cave to not be familiar with it.

The interesting things are the parades.  In the New Orleans area, every organization or Krewe sponsors a parade.  There are dozens of them from the beginning through Mardi Gras. During the parades members of the krewe, dressed in costume, toss candy and souvenirs (coins, beaded necklaces) to the onlookers. Check out this  sci-fi krewe which goes green ! It's hilarious.

Notice that the date on these two coins is 1969.  My parents went to visit my uncle and his then wife who lived in Metairie, LA.  I put the backside of one of the souvenir coins as an extra.  It's the name of the Krewe my aunt belonged.  
 
I was pretty sure I didn't have any beaded necklaces at home so after my training session, I checked the dollar stores.  I think this area is more into Día de Muertos and Cinco de Mayo than Mardi Gras.  Then I remembered that I might have something in my old scrapbook.

It was a nice look down memory lane, seeing things like ticket stubs, from among other things, a Bills game that cost $13 (not $130) and a $5 ticket to see Frank Sinatra. FIVE DOLLARS! I also found a postcard from my best friend who was attending a different college.  She told me she got her IRS refund and was going to use it to get a haircut.  Oh, simpler times...

Anyway, I was right.  I had these two coins taped in there. 

By the time most of the world sees this it will be Ash Wednesday. Fish and a smudgy forehead. Hmm...what to sacrifice for 40 days?  The nun who was preparing us for First Communion when I was seven gave up salt and pepper. I think I can handle that, especially since I don't use salt.  Jesus would be proud.  No, not that one...Jesus Martinez who lives down the street!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.