Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Arizona Blipmeet

I feel pretty guilty as the MM host not posting this in mono but I didn't want to lose the color.  If you continue reading you'll see I did  include the theme "down to the wire!"

I met up with FotoAlex today halfway between Phoenix and Tucson. There were two places for us to pick from to hang out: Picacho Peak State Park or the Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch. He told me he hated  birds but would give the ostriches a try.  He wasn't kidding about the birds. In the blip a couple of laurakeets  lorikeets landed on him to get the food out of the little cups we were given (extra).  The blip is me (well, my hand) doing the same thing but I'm sure I was smiling. 

He wasn't too sure about feeding the ostriches, and I think one bit his shirt, but we both got through that ordeal.  The fallow deer were gentle as you can tell by the one licking my hand as it reached for the nugget of food I was holding.  Honestly, I spent the entire time we were together laughing my donkey off...and there were donkeys.

Alex was really fond of the chickens.  One of them bit me.  I didn't get a single focused shot of one.  Each could have qualified as an abstract Thursday entry.  Sorry to all the chicken lovers but I'm not very fond of them.  There were cute bunnies and different kinds of goats.  We fed everything.  It was a riot just watching his expression every time he came near something with feathers.

I had a blast.  We should have gotten together a long time ago but we went down to the wire.  The native Arizonan (his family goes back to the Gadsden Purchase) will be moving to the east coast in a few weeks.  Hope you enjoy the blip and the fun extras.  I laughed enough to carry me for quite some time. 

Safe travels, Alex, and good luck.  Enjoy the ride(s)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.