Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Flower market

I was at the flower market today organising some jasmine for school tomorrow, my last day there this year. These beautiful garlands are all hand made and fresh every day. Flowers include jasmine, marigolds, roses and chrysanthemum. The greenery is I think coriander, but I'm not sure. The cords binding them together are also from plants. The scents are beautiful. Garlands like these are used to honour people, you will see brides and grooms wearing them too. They are very heavy. There is a whole row of stalls selling these all in slightly different combination and people sitting and standing behind the tables making them.
School was busy today, the painting is almost complete and things are going back to normal as they reinstate everything that was moved to allow the painting to happen.
This evening I went out to the Buhari and had dinner of their delicious butter chicken. I do wish we could get Indian food like this at home. Mind you I'll be happy to eat fewer carbohydrates, I've got a 'mother of the bride dress' to find for July.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.