... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Central Hall Mezzanine HDR

Better in large ("L").

This is the 1st floor "mezzanine" level of the central hall at the Nat Hist. I was on the right-hand side (facing Darwin, of course; I was standing in the "" gallery) facing the now empty left-hand side which used to house the Primates gallery.

I'm always intrigued by the light coming through the stained glass, but it is a surprisingly tricky view to capture as the skylights above tend to be very bright, the stained glass tends to be bright enough to wash out too, and the galleries and terracotta tend to look far too dark. Then there's the symmetry: people always try to ruin it! Anyway, HDR has helped (although this hasn't been my most successful effort: I could really have used a tripod in the dim wintry light...), and I managed to time it so that my picture is visitor-free! I think I still need to work on including people; as LadyMarchmont's visit and photograph showed me, people can add such a dynamic feel to a picture like this...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.