In Which the Tiger Takes in Some Bisque

I have mentioned that Tiny Tiger loves to ride the bus and go new places and see new things. (Except for bulls; it turns out he doesn't like bulls much.) So when I mentioned that I'd be busing it over to campus on this day to enjoy the Nittany Lion Inn's world-famous lobster bisque with my friends the Risky Bisquers, of course, he wanted to go along.

So I packed the Tiger into my daysack and set out for the Inn. Two of my friends were already there waiting, and two more joined us shortly; one, alas, was missing in action. The Tiger, of course, genteel fellow that he is, was warmly received.

This was the scene when the bisque arrived in a lovely, large bowl. There was just one spot on the corner of the square dish under the soup that was empty, and it was perfect for Tiger seating. So that's where he ended up.

And look at that: the Tiger is the very same color as the bisque! Don't worry; he's not a very big eater. Then again, perhaps that big bowl looks like a hot tub full of bisque, just perfect for ONE TIGER to relax in!

It is my custom to take along a small container, into which I place bisque for later. I usually eat it the next day, sometimes even for breakfast. As I type this, I am sorry to say that I have just finished cleaning up a bisque-tastrophy.

I was microwaving a small container of leftover bisque-breakfast. Everything was going well and I was happy. I was smug, in fact, thinking that I had MORE BISQUE for today. I was contemplating taking a picture of my wonderful bisque. But that's when my plans went awry.

Suddenly there was a popping sound. (Yes, sometimes soup does go BOOM!) An errant piece of lobster exploded, the container fell over, and orange bisque spilled everywhere. It was a great big MESS, but I salvaged what I could and ate it. I had to. And I must say it was delicious, anyway.

The soundtrack tune is something whimsical, as it speaks to both animals and soup. The song is Shirley Temple, with Animal Crackers in My Soup. Relax, T. Tiger, we won't be eating any additional animals (crackers or otherwise) in THIS soup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.