Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Robin Redux

It had to be another "robin in sumac" shot today especially when I realized I'd gotten her in mid-toss with her tongue visible.  Score!  Granted, it's through the window, but I'll take it.  In our yard, robins are very spooky birds so even movement through the window sends them flying.  When they've settled into nesting pairs and are feeding nestlings, I can often get closer shots, but I'm going to go with today's shot for my yardbirds visual record - Number 17.  One more shot in Extra.

If you contrast this image to yesterday's you will be able to clearly see the difference between male (yesterday) and female - she is overall paler and more subdued than him.  I do love robins as they have beautiful songs and always seem well-behaved.

Last night on the Critter-cam we saw raccoons, a fox, a deer, and a feral cat.  I suspect, based on the number of raccoon visits during the night, that I'll be waging a losing battle with them when I put the hummingbird feeders out in April.  We'll see.  This morning before I brought the cam inside, I got some nice looks at the turkeys - too bad that the raccoons and deer had eaten all the food so all the turkeys got was water (which they seem to enjoy).  

Still feeling blah so skipped the gym, just in case I've got something contagious (although I'm still going with sinus congestion as my self-diagnosis).  Hubs and I took a nice car ride instead, with a stop at Starbucks.  Still cold outside although temps will warm up into the 50's by Sunday.  

Cheers, and happy Friday.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.