At rest

This morning S and I drove to Waikino, where we met up with my sisters  (and husband of one) and brother and his partner. At the Waikino Station Cafe. In a previous blip I had noted that the original station was actually some distance away, and had been destroyed in a flood of the Ohinemuri Rivermany years ago now. The station is the old Paeroa Station; the same vintage as the Waikino one.

After lunch we went up Waitekauri Road to see where our childhood home once was. Years ago it was left to deteriorate, and then burned. During its deterioration phase, I had visited and rescued four bricks from the crumbling chimney. I still have those.

Something new from when I was last here was a small enclosure of picket fencing around a large quartz boulder. There is colour in the boulder. I am assuming it is Fool's Gold, although why fence it in?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.