Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Cedar Waxwing

All the berries in our trees must be just perfect right now as there are hordes of birds after them. Last year at this time was the same only with snow. If we'd had any precipitation the last 2 weeks it would have been snow. But I'm ready for this heavy foggy air to clear out --Rain tomorrow?
The robins were making so much noise I had to go get the camera and the telephoto. Got lots of photos out the back window of robins eating (I think it's a cotonester that has twined itself up into the magnolia tree) but all of a sudden there was a yellow tail tip! Hark! An individual cedar waxwing! So I couldn't resist it. (and I'm not a birder, but this isn't something I notice every day.)

I had just printed out that fabulous Inaugural poem of Richard Bianco's about "One today " and "hope" when the news came on about a "school shooting - which was really just between 2 guys and no deaths, not anything to do with the school, but still. .... guns!

The other bit of gloom for the day: The Ocean lecture today showed whole islands in the South Pacific that are being covered by rising seas. They did nothing to contribute to producing CO2 or global warming but are the first to succumb. The people have to leave the sea is coming up everywhere and nothing can grow. I was thrilled to hear our President address climate change in his speech yesterday. I just don't know if it's too late...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.