Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Willow workshop

W and I attended a workshop on willow weaving this afternoon.  It was good fun, and we came away with a couple of fat ball holders for feeding the birds.  They are somewhat scruffier than Maxine's demonstrator model, but functional.  I suspect the squirrel will make short work of them, but we'll see.

The photo shows our creations in the foreground, half completed, and Maxine is demonstrating the next stage of the manufacture.

We signed up for this because I bought a kit to make willow dragonflies in the summer, and haven't had the nerve to unpack it and try just on the basis of written instructions.  Max very kindly gave us advice on the soaking and "mellowing" of the willow, and then showed us the technique for weaving the body.  

I've signed us up for another class - hoping that after a little more tuition I will feel confident enough to get the kit out and have a go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.