Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Crystal clear



There is so much to learn about our own planet and what makes it tick that I often wonder if we are actually achieving anything by wandering around the solar system and beyond.

Geology, mining, the Earth's structure, we all know or have heard a bit about it from school, the news, reading or perhaps University. I find it fascinating, know little or nothing about the different geological periods but still remain interested.

Jack of all trades would probably cover my interest in anything which makes me think. I tend to jump in and see if I can swim in the pool, rather than dropping a stone in to find out how deep it is. :-)) This piece of rock came from Trecarne Quarry, Delabole, North Cornwall. The crystals that are forming make this piece a little different from the stone around it as it's mostly sedimentary shale layers built over millennia. I could not capture the glistening brilliance of the minute reflecting crystals, they are there but not as easily seen as I thought.

Something to ponder on, where and when it was created, how long has it taken for these crystals to accumulate. Will there be time for tea before the alien battlestar attacks?

PS 34 images in Helicon Focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.